I Went For a Walk the Other Night

The doctor thought for a minute or so and said it sounds like restless leg syndrome. Which at first seemed pretty bizarre since I am paralyzed. Those are the symptoms of restless leg syndrome he reiterated. They had begun back in 1999 when I was injured. Over the years they had lessened in frequency, but I still had at least a couple of times a week. If I didn’t take the medication right away it led to night terrors and panic attacks that would possess me for hours.

Going for a Walk

Going for a Walk


As odd as it seemed just his defining the condition led to a decrease in frequency. I had learned early on to take Xanax at the earliest of symptoms otherwise it was impossible to avoid the onset. The drug would usually put me to sleep for several hours and I’d a wake disoriented. The decrease in frequency was a blessing in itself and started me wondering if there might be another way to deal with it now.

For a long time, prior to my injury, I had used imagining as a tool in my life. I realize I have already written about it a couple times (Visualization Worth Looking Into and In My Mind I’m Going To Carolina), but this was another use for the powerful practice. In thinking about it, I decided if my legs want to go for a walk, then why not take them for a walk. Early one morning I woke up around 4:30 am. As the initial feelings started; my legs feeling like cement, tingling and then progressing to the overwhelming feeling to move them, I closed my eyes and visualized myself swinging my legs off the bed and onto the floor. Next it was step by mental step walking down the hall and outside. I could not believe how easy it was and how satisfying it was physically and more important mentally. Since that night I have gone jogging and even rode my bike. However, the greatest benefit is that I have not had a recurrence of the syndrome in a couple of months.

The mind is a powerful asset.

3 responses to “I Went For a Walk the Other Night

  1. That is so interesting that it works. Hopefully others will benefit from trying this.

  2. Christine Schneider

    Hi Dick, I always read and enjoy your handiblogs. I also pass them on others, like my Karen, who I know would be interested. You always have something meaningful and thought provoking to say. I have found thoughts you have that also apply to my life and circumstances as different than they might be from yours. Thank you for your insight and perceptions.

    I was just thinking…how about putting together a book of your different blogs? I would think publishers would be very interested in it as it would be so unique.

    Your fan, Chris

    • I agree Chris. There are so many thoughts that Rich has that apply to other parts of life. I have restless legs, but not being paralyzed it drives me nuts at night, the constant movement at night, the freaky sensation crawling up and down inside my skin, going into my arms and feet and along my ribs and back. I have cramping spasms sometimes that hurt the arches of my feet or knot up the calves of my legs, and my arms get so rigid and fingers so stiff they hurt. It’s like an episode of epilepsy but I’m don’t have that illness either.

      Will the idea of taking an imaginary walk work? I take real ones at 3am down my dark country road with my dog. So why not try an imaginary one across the Golden Gate Bridge, a place that calms me and smells so good; or the floor of Yosemite in the early spring; or Donner’s Pass. I’m going to try it soon, tonight, and increase my meds to take an additional one in the late afternoon. It may help calm the early evening wiggles.

      Thank you Rich for your ideas, and your patience, you teach us all.

Leave a Reply

