An Awesome Winter Day

I’m always looking for something different to do that will get me outside this time of year. The last couple years I went for a dog sled ride, but was hoping to do something different this winter. Imagine my surprise when two neighbors invited me to go ice fishing. I was excited not only for doing something different, but it also gave me the opportunity to work on adapting the equipment I would need to be successful. I’ve gotten to the point where I really enjoy the challenge of how to adapt the equipment so that I can use it. Add to this the anticipation of being outdoors in this weather as well as looking forward to a challenge.

IceFishing

IceFishing

Sunday, January 31 was the day. They went early and set everything up and then my son Mark drove to Lake of the Isles where we were going to fish. My Extreme X8 handled the ice really well. When we got there Tom and John helped set up my pole and get me started. Even though the temperature was around 42 there was a stiff breeze. We set up outside and fished for a while. After I caught some perch we decided to go in the ice hut where there was a heater. We also fished in the tent. Inside the tent you could see all the way to the bottom 10’-12’ down and watch the fish swim around.

Got a Bite

Got a Bite

What a great day! Spending time with friends, who love the out-of-doors as much as I do, is awesome. Add to that the sense of the peace, quiet and serenity and it was unreal, especially in the tent. I’m a lucky man!

Unreal

Unreal

Out on the Ice

Out on the Ice

5 responses to “An Awesome Winter Day

  1. Looks like a fun day. Love the pictures. Bet you slept like a log last night after being out all day.

  2. That looks really cold. It warm and wet here. Oh and windy….I think its the storm that dumped show on Washington/New York. Did it make it up to you or is it just normal winter weather for you guys? Where is a picture of the perch? Its great that you did this – I would love to have been there but I would have been nervous about venturing onto the ice!
    Regards
    Gary from England

  3. Christine Schneider

    You are amazing! So glad you didn’t go through the ice…but if you had, at least you would have died having an adventure. That is the way I want to go! Chris I

    Handihelp Blog wrote: > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com Rich from Handihelp posted: “I’m always looking for something different to do that will get me outside this time of year. The last couple years I went for a dog sled ride, but was hoping to do something different this winter. Imagine my surprise when two neighbors invited me to go ic”

  4. Terrific that you got to get out in the winter. I know you don’t like being kept inside at all. You have the most amazing friends and family who are willing to adjust their activities to have you go along and participate. It would be so great if others could learn from their example. And about being on the ice, you all are brave souls, this is something I’ve always felt would be a challenge of my fears. May just have to put it on my list of ones I need to overcome. Enjoy the rest of winter, outside.

Leave a Reply

