Waiting for a Ride

If you’re a member of the disabled community, chances are very good you spend a fair amount of time waiting. The more limiting your disability, the more you have to depend on others and thus the greater the time you wait. Before my accident, I was not a patient man. Waiting for a table in a restaurant never happened. I would walk out on a doctor’s appointment if I believed I was kept waiting too long. Patience was not my virtue. All of that has changed, changed by my circumstances and changed by my disability. My friend Andy says if you’re going to be in this chair anyway you might as well make the best of it. That’s true, but waiting for this ride is proving especially difficult.

Being indoors so much has been a very difficult adjustment for me even after all these years. When I was able-bodied I was always out doing something. Even in the winter I was cross-country skiing, snowshoeing or hiking. With another long winter approaching, I decided to do something about it. This ride had been on my “bucket list” since before I was hurt. My buddy Andy had already had his ride in Utah years ago. I Googled it and came up with Cupcake Mushing not far from my home. A phone call My ride awaitsset the plan into motion. They seemed as enthusiastic as I was. The conditions were ideal. The area we were going to had just got 4 feet of Lake Effect snow so we were set for next the weekend. I assembled my entourage my son, my nurse and several close friends. We borrowed and gathered the equipment we thought we would need. Neither we nor the mushers had done anything like this before, so we need to be prepared to adapt. Several days before we were to go, the weather changed dramatically. Unusually warm temperatures caused a quick snow melt, then it rained and what snow was left turned to ice. We rescheduled, but had to cancel again as conditioned had not improved. So now we’re on a wait and see basis and I find it very difficult waiting for my ride.
Andy ready to go on his ride

One response to “Waiting for a Ride

  1. I sure hope you haven’t been sitting out there in the sled all wrapped up in blankets. Now that WOULD be crazy. As if the idea for anyone to go dog sledding in freezing snow when it’s below freezing with wind chill factors
    making it way below freezing isn’t crazy in the first place. But I’m one of
    those people who thinks an adventure is driving to San Francisco to walk
    across The Bridge.

    Patience is one of those things we learn as we get older I think. We begin to realize the world doesn’t revolve around us, and that we have to wait to have our wants met, while the needs of others are met. It’s been difficult for me to learn. I have come a really long way. I think what’s most difficult for me is not going in the opposite direction thought wise, to giving up on the idea that there’s no point in ever planning anything for adventure or goals, because there’s no chance they will happen. It’s easy to give up when events that you look forward to are cancelled over and over, by situations beyond your control or because of the choices others make. It’s easy for that to lead to an attitude of defeat and sadness. Sometimes that’s made me feel like giving up on planning anything at all. Other times I realize that life is just hard and as adults stuff happens, we have to handle our responsibilities, which means we’ll often have to face disappointments, so I need to just get over it.

    Wow, how did I take your lovely story of dog sledding and turn it into a
    Debbie Downer Diary? There was a long time when many of my plans were put on hold because of responsibilities and decisions made by others. I waited, waited, waited. Then I quit waiting all the time and started doing stuff on my own. It wasn’t perfect, it wasn’t often, it wasn’t exactly what I wanted, but I think it was a balance between denial and patience, because I do feel there is a difference.

    So you will get that dogsled ride, and all you have to do is be patient. It will happen this winter. Have a really cool time!

Leave a Reply

