Setting the Record Straight

My wife did not leave me! I knew she was going on the trip but I thought it would be more interesting if I wrote the blog as though she had really left me. A couple weeks ago, we both spoke at a workshop on Fort Drum, the home of the 10th Mountain Division of the United States Army. I spoke on making adaptive equipment and Marge spoke to caregivers. I thought I would take the opportunity of her leaving to write a blog that would help individuals with disabilities and their caregivers realize the stresses and strains, both physical and mental, on caregivers. While it is more challenging for me when Marge is gone I completely understand the necessity for her to get away. I hoped I would be able to communicate that necessity through my blog My Wife Left Me. She did leave in the morning before dawn and basically everything I wrote was true although my lack of understanding as to why she had left was misleading. I thought there might be some reaction from some people but I figured our close friends and family would understand the liberty I had taken with the title. I was wrong! The next day after it was published I received a phone call from a very close friend who told me he and his wife had tears in their eyes before they got to the last sentence. He then proceeded to call me an ******* and gives me the business. Next, I got an email from my older sister who seem very confused by the whole thing and couldn’t quite understand what had happened. My niece called her mother and wanted to know what was going on with Marge and me. So, to set the record straight, I want everyone to know that my wife did not leave me but rather flew to California for a week of rest and relaxation. If I misled anyone or caused anyone emotional distress I apologize.

Leave a Reply

