Spring Is Springing

Probably most of you have already experienced spring, but living close to the Canadian border it comes late. The entire month of May in New York State is spring turkey season. I spend most mornings from the time I’m up until noon (one can only hunt until 12:00pm in NYS) out in a blind hunting and enjoying the natural world. This year is an exception to that pattern. We have received so much rain this month that we are more than half-way through May, and I’ve only been out three times. Even so, I am still able to watch the earth spring back to life in front of my eyes. We consider ourselves fortunate to live in the country where the bleak look of winter changes into a light green and just becomes richer and fuller. The colors are not uniform but rather separated into the myriad shades of the rainbow.

Feeding Station

While I have not been able to hunt, I am still able to enjoy the natural world right from my house. Last spring I bought a Gardman Wild Bird Feeding Station Kit online for about $35. My wife put it up outside the window facing my computer. The station has a number of places to hang different types of feeders, and well as, a small waterer. The station has regular bird seed, nijer seed, oiled sunflower seeds, a hummingbird feeder and a suet feeder. The food varies from summer to winter, but birds are always around. There is, however, a greater assortment of birds in the spring. I realize how fortunate I am to be in a location to observe nature first hand. I glance up from my computer never knowing what I will be treated too. Talk about colors and hues, this spring I have seen a variety that includes: Ruby Throated Hummingbirds, Rose-breasted Grosbeaks, Cowbirds, Blue Jays, a Female Baltimore Oriole, Rufous-sided Towhee, Sparrows and Finches of all kinds, Downey & Hairy Woodpeckers, Cardinals (the color of the female’s beak is one of the most beautiful in nature), Mourning Doves and an Indigo Bunting. These birds differ in size, color, flight patterns and behaviors. How fortunate I am to be able to stop and observe part of nature’s world from my wheelchair every day.

Looking Out

Leave a Reply

