Struggling

Turkeys

I have not written in a while because I have been struggling for several months with a significant health issue which has resulted in a high level discomfort during most of my waking hours. After the initial adjustment to my disability, I felt as though I was successfully handling most issues most of the time and adapting to the circumstances I found myself in. Currently, the ability to place things in perspective and reassert control over my situation has escaped me. I have become depressed, frustrated and withdrawn compounded by my seeming inability to gain control over my emotional state. I know the power to deal with this challenge is within me, but I have been unable to tap into it. We are still at the point where we are trying to identify the possible cause or causes of what is taking place. Early next week there should be a clearer picture of what is going on and what options are available to rectify the matter.

 This situation is an almost constant reminder of what my disability means. None of the possible solutions are very desirable. I find myself slipping into a spiral of self-pity which does nothing to help the situation. The almost constant physical discomfort makes marshaling my mental strength to fight this challenge extremely difficult. The fact that I have been extremely healthy over the last 11 years does not help matters either. Naively, I had done little to prepare for additional health problems. I feel compelled to write this blog so people understand the struggles most of us with major disabilities experience on a constant basis. I have likened the situation to a juggler keeping a number of balls in the air, and as more balls get added. It becomes more and more difficult to maintain the skill.

 On October 1st turkey hunting season begins, and I am hoping that this endeavor will occupy my thoughts and mind and will help provide me with an avenue for gaining better control. The turkeys and deer I hunt do not care that I am in a wheelchair and it is irrelevant to the game that I use my mouth to fire my gun. All they know is that I am another predator and that is all I want. Interestingly, this morning 13 turkeys showed up in my backyard to feed at the birdfeeders. I will take that as a good omen for developing a more positive outlook. By the way I never hunt these birds.

3 responses to “Struggling

  1. thank you for updating us out here…we wish you the needed strength at this time. You help us parents who have children in similar situations but also without speech to expressive their feelings. Peace to you friend…and hope to see you at SU events=)

  2. I hope things turn around for you soon. I sure have enjoyed visiting your web site and learning all of your tips. It means alot when you are willing to share with others what you have learned. Thanks again!

  3. Manche schaffen es, andere nicht.
    Translation
    Some succeed and some don’t.

Leave a Reply

